Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I Am Here! Is one of my personal favorite manga. I love Ema Toyama’s work alot! So, here I am after picking up all the volumes of ” I Am Here!” to do a review.

The manga was started in July 2007 and was fully finished by January 2009 with a total of 5 volumes. I found this manga while reading through shojo manga in 2011 and loved it because of the cute artwork and the touching feeling of the story.

The heroine, Hikage Sumino is a very shy girl, people often didn’t notice her. She kept a blog and had two “Online-Blog-Friends” named MegaPIG and Black Rabbit. Sumino often asked them for help as they were the only people who read her blog and responded in her time of need.

There was a huge plot twist, I saw the couple coming but the unmasking of MegaPIG and Black Rabbit was quite surprising, as this is a review and not a massive spoiler thingy I will say no more about that.

Image

This is the first volume cover.

I was probably not the only person who found all 5 volumes put together into two books. I found it at a local bookstore each costs $20.00 USD or $20.00 CAN.

Enough about that now, my opinion is what makes this a review right?!

If anyone ever read Ema Toyama’s “Do XX To Me!” or “私にXXしなさい!” you will recognize her work and characters a little bit. It seems to me the heroine resembled Sumino a little bit. The tones she uses on the panels really bring out the feel. All of the characters eyes are drawn well, I like that particular style. She makes things feel so cute, even at the bullying scenes the cuteness shows a little even though its a hated scene for me. Every “Slice Of Life”, “School” Shojo manga always has that one bully that just messes up everything. Sumino’s reaction to the bully and denial to the setup infront of everyone was a great surprise to me, as normally I would see the character run out of the room or confront someone else. The story on MegaPIG’s life was cute, I believe it was a wonderful addition. This manga made me cry. Even when I re-read it, I cried. You know what, I still cry. I really wish the manga went on a little more, regarding the love triangle, I wanted to see a future with both of them ( ` ^ ` )

You will be sad, you will be happy, you will feel the loneliness, everything. Maybe you can relate to this manga and make it warm your heart even more! ( ` v ` ) b

You will find that the heroine seems to be “Saved” by everyone, if you look closely, she is saving everyone else!

Please if you find this great manga on the bookstore’s shelves you pick it up if you are interested! This is so far the best Shojo Manga I have read, even though its quite short, but it leaves a big mark on my heart!